Tickhill St Mary'sCofE Primary and Nursery School

Growing Together, Learning Together

Search Search
Translate Translate


At Tickhill St Mary’s Primary School our Governing Body has 12 volunteer members, all of whom are actively involved in partnership with the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team in helping set the vision and strategic direction of the school. The main aim of our Governing body is to ensure the delivery of a high standard of education for all the pupils in our care and to ensure that our school is the very best it can be.

We have three Full Governing Body meetings each year.  Two main sub committees, Curriculum and Standards (CAST) and Resources and Team (REST)  also meet at least once per term. We monitor results and other aspects of school life, such as attendance, behaviour and safeguarding. We also review school’s policies. All our governors receive regular training to guide them in understanding the complex workings of our school and to enable them to support, challenge, ask questions, and ultimately represent our school community.

To support the work that goes on in St Mary’s, governors also try to visit school as often as possible. We particularly enjoy talking to the children about their school and what they think about it. They are always keen to share their ideas.

We are proud to have a committed Governing Body that is made up of a team of individuals with a wide range of backgrounds and experiences. 

                                   Tickhill St Mary's CofE Primary & Nursery School Governing Body - 2021/22

Governor ResponsibleDate of Appointment/Term of OfficeGovernor TypeSubject ResponsibilityMember of Which Committee?% Attendance at Committee Meetings* (last academic year 2020/21)
Christopher Blaken/aAssociate Governorn/an/an/a
Sandra DunstanSept 18 (4 years )FoundationPupil InterviewsREST17%
Pamela GaddSept 18 (4 years )FoundationNQT/School Council/LanguagesREST & Headteacher's Performance Management100%
Jenny HoskerSept 19 ( 4 years )FoundationRE/SafeguardingCAST67%
Amy OverNov 21 (4 years)StaffEnglishCASTn/a
Amy PassSept 18 ( 4 years)ParentEarly YearsCAST67%
Christopher PoddApril 18 ( 4 years )Local AuthoritySENCAST & REST/Headteacher's Performance Management



Matthew RogersSept 20 (4 years)ParentInformation TechnologyCAST & REST100%
Gareth RowbothamJuly 17 ( 4 years )Foundation (Chair)MathsCAST & REST100%
Janet Sandersonn/aHeadteachern/aCAST & REST100%
Noreen SweedApril 18 (4 years )FoundationHistory/GeographyCAST & Headteacher's Performance Management80%
Ernie TownerSept 18 ( 4 years )Foundation (Vice Chair)The Arts/PremisesCAST & REST100%

 * the majority of these meetings were carried out remotely through Microsoft Teams

Register of Governors Interest - Tickhill St Mary's CofE Primary &  Nursery School - 2021/22


Name of Governor

Any Interest Declared


Details of any Business


Details of any other Educational

Establishment where they are


Details of any relationships with other


Christopher BlakeNon/an/an/a
Sandra DunstanNon/an/an/a
Pamela GaddNon/an/an/a
Jenny HoskerNon/an/an/a
Amy OverNon/an/an/a
Amy PassNon/an/an/a
Christopher PoddNo

Potential involvement

with DMBC banking contract

Matthew RogersYesChair of Northgate Pre-Schooln/an/a
Gareth RowbothamYesn/an/an/a
Janet SandersonNon/an/an/a
Noreen SweedYesn/aTravis St Lawrence CofE Primaryn/a
Ernie TownerYesn/an/an/a


Tickhill St Mary's Governors Meetings - 2021/22